National Collegiate Athletic Association

The NCAA News - News and Features

March 10, 1997

Division I 50th anniversary hockey team announced

Five decades of hockey history are represented on the NCAA 50th Anniversary Team released February 24 by the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Committee as part of the Golden Anniversary of the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship.

The three goaltenders, six defensemen and 12 forwards selected for the team come from 11 different NCAA institutions.

They are listed below with the institutions where they played and the years in which they participated in the NCAA championship:

Goaltenders: Marc Behrend, Wisconsin, 1981 and 1983; Ken Dryden, Cornell, 1967, 1968 and 1969; and Chris Terreri, Providence, 1983 and 1985.

Defense: Chris Chelios, Wisconsin, 1982 and 1983; Bruce Driver, Wisconsin, 1981, 1982 and 1983; George Konik, Denver, 1960 and 1961; Dan Lodboa, Cornell, 1970; Keith Magnuson, Denver, 1968 and 1969; and Jack O'Callahan, Boston University, 1976, 1977 and 1978.

Forwards: Tony Amonte, Boston University, 1990 and 1991; Lou Angotti, Michigan Tech, 1960 and 1962; Red Berenson, Michigan, 1962; Bill Cleary, Harvard, 1955; Tony Hrkac, North Dakota, 1987; Paul Kariya, Maine, 1993; Bill Masterton, Denver, 1960 and 1961; John Matchefts, Michigan, 1951 and 1953; John Mayasich, Minnesota, 1953 and 1954; Jim Montgomery, Maine, 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1993; Tom Rendall, Michigan, 1955, 1956 and 1957; and Phil Sykes, North Dakota, 1979, 1980 and 1982.

The 21-player squad was nominated and selected by current Division I head coaches, head coaches of teams that have participated in the tournament, and current and former members of the hockey committee.

The NCAA presents its 50th ice hockey championship March 27 and 29 at the Bradley Center in Milwaukee, with Wisconsin serving as host. The 50th Anniversary Team will be introduced between the second and third periods of the championship game.

"The college hockey community should be proud of the way these players have built the championship into what it is today," said Joe Marsh, head ice hockey coach at St. Lawrence and chair of the ice hockey committee. "The fans in Milwaukee are in for a real treat when they see this team together on the ice; these guys represent the very best of the NCAA hockey championship from the past 50 years."

This will be the second championship final hosted by the Bradley Center. In 1993, Maine defeated Lake Superior State, 5-4, before the largest crowd (17,704) ever to see an NCAA hockey tournament game.

Tickets for the 1997 championship semifinals and final are sold out.

Site Content and Development copyright © 1997 National Collegiate Athletic Association
Site Design/Build by MAI Interactive, L.L.C.
Questions or Comments? Contact The NCAA.