NCAA News Archive - 2000

« back to 2000 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Purdue's Brees heads 2000 football Academic All-Americans

Dec 18, 2000 4:56:18 PM

The NCAA News

Purdue University quarterback Drew Brees, the 2000 Big Ten Conference Offensive Player of the Year and a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, has been named to the Verizon Academic All-America Football Team announced by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Brees, a senior, completed 61 percent of his passes for 3,393 yards and 24 touchdowns in leading the Boilermakers to their first Rose Bowl appearance in 34 years. Brees leads the nation in total offense per game and was named the Verizon Academic All-America Team Member of the Year in the university division.

That honor in the college division went to offensive lineman Dave Wonderlick of Susquehanna University, a senior who made the first team for the second straight season.

The University of Montana was the only school with two university division first-team members -- offensive lineman Matt Thuesen and defensive back Vince Huntsberger, who repeated on the first team.

Arkansas Tech was the only school in the college division with a pair of first-teamers -- kicker Paul Peletz and defensive lineman Robert Bayer.

The 48 first-team selections had an average grade-point average of 3.820, with six posting perfect grade-point averages for their college careers.

The Verizon Academic All-America Teams are selected by a vote of the 1,800-member CoSIDA. Nominees must be varsity starters or key reserves and maintain a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.200 (4.000 scale). CoSIDA has been selecting Academic All-America Teams since 1952.

Following is a complete list of the Verizon Academic All-America Football Team: ALT="brees(p5)">

University division

First-team offense

Quarterback -- Drew Brees, Purdue, industrial management.

Running backs -- Thomas Hammock, Northern Illinois, marketing; Ryan Johnson, Montana State, exercise physiology.

Receivers -- Jake Coppola, Canisius, mathematics; Adam Overbey, Towson, biology.

Tight end -- Josh Whitman, Illinois, finance.

Linemen -- J.T. Herfurth, Albany, sociology; Wes Hines, McNeese State, finance; Ryan Schmid, Oregon, business administration; Matt Thuesen, Montana, political science; Kyle Young, Clemson, secondary education.

Kicker -- Scott Westerfield, Mississippi State, civil engineering.

First-team defense

Linemen -- Chris Cain, Portland State, public health education/business; Brian Potter, Miami (Ohio), finance; Kyle Vanden Bosch, Nebraska, finance; Brian Bodor, Wofford, accounting.

Linebackers -- Chad Carson, Clemson, biological sciences; Marion Martin, Furman, chemistry; Adam Waugh, Illinois State, political science.

Defensive backs -- Christopher Hope, Florida State, communication; Vince Huntsberger, Montana, biology/premedicine; Jared Lee, Brigham Young, premedicine/history; Jon McGraw, Kansas State, finance.

Punter -- Dan Dyke, Georgia Tech, electrical engineering.


Second-team offense

Quarterback -- Jeff Kelly, Southern Mississippi, banking and finance/business administration.

Running backs -- Adam Ferreri, Fairfield, marketing; Nick Soloman, Tennessee Tech, special education.

Receivers -- Eddie Tillitz, Miami (Ohio), zoology; Brett Veach, Delaware, physical education.

Tight end -- Lance Ballew, Eastern Washington, marketing.

Lineman -- Jordan Caruso, Penn State, business logistics; Eric Damko, Northern Arizona, business administration; Kyle Eaton, Oklahoma State, management information; Gene Mruczkowski, Purdue, movement and sport sciences; Jon Stinchcomb, Georgia, microbiology.

Kicker -- Todd France, Toledo, mechanical engineering.


Second-team defense

Linemen -- Aaron Kampman, Iowa, elementary education; R.D. Kern, Harvard, economics, Ebbie Parsons, Florida A&M, industrial engineering; Fred Wakefield, Illinois, kinesiology.

Linebackers -- Kevin Campbell, LaSalle, finance; Rick Giampietri, Idaho, mathematics; Josh Thornhill, Michigan State, kinesiology.

Defensive backs -- C.J. Carroll, Southwest Texas State, exercise and sports sciences; Kimball Christianson, Utah, German; Dave Evans, Bucknell, civil engineering; Travis Ortega, Rice, political science.

Punter -- Kris Stockton, Texas, biology.


College division

First-team offense

Quarterback -- Timothy Vinyard, Coe, biology.

Running backs -- Jake Barkley, St. Thomas (Minnesota), entrepreneurship; Chuck Moore, Mount Union, business administration.

Receivers -- Jason Berkhimer, Waynesburg, biology (pre-physical therapy); Nathan Tuck, Emory and Henry, physics/

Tight end -- Frank McCabe, Wilkes, political science/

Linemen -- Brad Crawford, Indianapolis, biology (pre-physical therapy); Andrew Fleischman, Concordia-St. Paul, education; Mackenzie Hay, Augustana (Illinois), premedicine (biology); Mark Trettin, Wartburg, accounting/business administration; Dave Wonderlick, Susquehanna, public relations.

Kicker -- Paul Peletz, Arkansas Tech, economics/finance.


First-team defense

Linemen -- Keith Akard, Carson-Newman, business administration; Robert (B.J.) Bayer, Arkansas Tech, engineering; Tim Gustafason, Case Western Reserve, English/history; Peter Katz, Wisconsin-Whitewater, premedicine.

Linebackers -- Brian Bergstrom, Gustavus Adolphus, fitness/management; Chris Gab, Pittsburg State, plastics engineering; Brian Kowalski, Rochester, political science/history.

Defensive backs -- Brian Holland, Bentley, finance; Angus Huang, MIT, computer science; Curt Monday, College of New Jersey, finance; Eric Totten, Western Washington, business science/history.

Punter -- Adam Ryan, Fort Hays State, marketing.


Second-team offense

Quarterback -- Tom Linnemann, St. John's (Minnesota), political science.

Running backs -- Lucas Arnold, Salve Regina, accounting.

Receivers -- Jeff Geisz, Michigan Tech, technology; Rory Peacock, McMurry, education.

Tight end -- Chad Hermsdorf, Minnesota St.-Mankato, biology/premedicine.

Linemen -- John Burk, Angelo State, kinesiology; Mark Foran, Kenyon, biology; Brian Gossett, Maryville (Tennessee), history for licensure; Andy Kopperud, Gustavus Adolphus, biology; Seth Roberson, Wartburg, physics; Mark Weidner, Edinboro, criminal justice.

Kicker -- Gary Kral, Pittsburg State, accounting.


Second-team defense

Linemen -- Terry Jolliff, Findlay, pre-physical therapy; Luke McIntosh. Washington (Missouri), political science/marketing; Nick Nicastro, Wilmington (Ohio), sports administration; Jeff Thurk, Carleton, economics.

Linebackers -- Alex Daecher, Kutztown, elementary and special education; Mitch Marzo, Lycoming, biology; Andrew Waxman, Widener, electrical engineering.

Defensive backs -- Casey Allen, Lenoir-Rhyne, business administration; Corbett Boone, Hardin-Simmons, biology; Matt Johnston, Grinnell, biology; Clint Steiner, Central Missouri State, marketing.

Punter -- Dan Neumann, St. Francis (Illinois), finance.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy