NCAA News Archive - 2007

« back to 2007 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Bloomsburg record-setter keys field hockey crown

Nov 19, 2007 1:01:05 AM

The NCAA News

Bloomsburg defeated host Massachusetts-Lowell, 5-2, to capture the 2007 Division II Field Hockey Championship November 11.

Junior Jaime Vanartsdalen, the Division II single-season record holder for goals scored (35) and points (89), contributed two goals in the Huskies’ march to their second straight title and fifth in the last six years.

The Huskies and River Hawks are familiar foes — the lone blemish in Bloomsburg’s streak of recent championships came at the hands of Massachusetts-Lowell in 2005.

In pursuit of the program’s 14th overall national title, Bloomsburg used a flurry of goals in a five-minute span to establish a lead and never relinquished control. The Huskies’ Amy Gilbert banged in a shot at the 7:40 mark of the first half to start the scoring. Sophomore Chelsea Due tallied Bloomsburg’s second goal just three minutes later when she deflected a shot past Massachusetts-Lowell goalie Danielle Dodier. Vanartsdalen nailed her 34th goal of the season two and a half minutes later to expand the Huskies’ lead to 3-0.

In the second half, Massachusetts-Lowell’s Jill Tierney redirected a shot past Bloomsburg goalkeeper Allison Ziants to get the River Hawks on the board at 40:24. Although the Huskies pushed the lead back to three on a goal from Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year Brieann Wolfe, the River Hawks responded on Jaci Moulton’s goal on a penalty corner in the 51st minute of play.

Vanartsdalen secured the 5-2 victory for the Huskies with her 35th goal of the season at the 65:30 mark.

Bloomsburg set a school record by scoring 132 goals on the year en route to finishing with a 21-4 record. The Huskies advanced to the championship match after defeating Indiana (Pennsylvania), 4-3, in semifinal action.

Massachusetts-Lowell’s 2-1 overtime win over Bentley in the semifinals not only clinched the River Hawks’ berth in the title match, but it also was head coach Shannon Hlebichuk’s 100th career victory. Massachusetts-Lowell closed out the year with a 19-3 record.

Vanartsdalen, Due, Whitney Miller and Ashley Heckard were selected for the all-tournament team from Bloomsburg along with Jayne Vagenas, Michelle Harrington and Liz Day of Masschusetts-Lowell, Abbie DeMusis, Alyssa Sliney from Bentley and Barbara Heemelaar and Liz Martini of Indiana.

Bloomsburg 1 3 — 4
Indiana (Pa.) 0 3 — 3

First half: B — Jamie Vanartsdalen (unassisted), 27:35.

Second half: B — Ashley Heckard (Vanartsdalen), 36:26; B — Samatha Kropa (unassisted), 37:06; B — Liz Macready (Chelsea Due), 48:02; IUP — Liz Martini (penalty stroke), 56:16; IUP — Sylvia Guerrieri (unassisted), 63:37; IUP — Martini (Brittany Owens), 70:00.

Shots: Bloomsburg 17, Indiana (Pa.) 9. Goalkeeper saves: Bloomsburg (Allison Ziants) 4, Indiana (Pa.) (Lydia Dolly) 8. Penalty corners: Bloomsburg 10, Indiana (Pa.) 5.

Bentley 0 1 0 — 1
Mass.-Lowell 0 1 1 — 2

Second half: B — Abbie DeMusis (Allison St. Jean), 43:46; ML — Missy Seeley (unassisted), 55:34.
Overtime: ML — Liz Day (Jaci Moulton), 71:15.

Shots: Bentley 6, Mass.-Lowell 16. Goalkeeper saves: Bentley (Alyssa Sliney) 9, Mass.-Lowell (Danielle Dodier) 3. Penalty corners: Bentley 3, Mass.-Lowell 9.

Bloomsburg 3 2 — 5
Mass.-Lowell 0 2 — 2

First half: B — Amy Gilbert (unassisted), 7:40; B — Chelsea Due (unassisted), 10:23; B — Jamie Vanartsdalen (Due), 12:51.

Second half: ML — Jill Tierney (Jaci Moulton), 40:24; B — Brieann Wolfe (Whitney Miller), 46:16; ML — Moulton (Missy Seeley and Jayne Vagenas), 50:27; Vanartsdalen (Gilbert), 65:30.

Shots: Bloomsburg 16, Mass.-Lowell 11. Goalkeeper saves: Bloomsburg (Allison Ziants) 6, Mass.-Lowell (Danielle Dodier) 7. Penalty corners: Bloomsburg 9, Mass.-Lowell 4.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy