NCAA News Archive - 2008

« back to 2008 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Coaches earn lacrosse honors

Nov 20, 2008 1:22:28 PM

The NCAA News

A pair of Division III coaches’ contributions to their sport will be honored next month by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association.

Hank Janczyk of Gettysburg will receive the Howdy Myers Man of the Year Award and Dickinson’s David Webster will receive the Frenchy Julien Service Award December 12 in Baltimore.

Janczyk is the first Division III coach since 1997 to receive the Myers Award, presented annually to an individual who contributes to lacrosse “in a capacity over and above the normal efforts” while showing “unselfish and untiring devotion to the game.”

Webster is the first Division III coach since 2003 to earn the Julien Award, presented for “outstanding and continuous service to the sport.”

Janczyk is preparing for his 22nd season at Gettysburg, where his teams have won 15 conference championships and appeared 18 times in the Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship. His 2001 and 2002 squads finished as national runner-up.

Including stints at Colgate and Salisbury, Janczyk owns a 314-94 coaching record. Last season, he became only the fifth NCAA men’s lacrosse coach to achieve the 300-victory milestone.

Webster, who played lacrosse and football at Dickinson, returned to his alma mater in 2002 after starting the program at Marymount (Virginia), then coaching at Franklin & Marshall.

At Dickinson, Webster (who also serves as assistant athletics director) has taken teams during winter and spring breaks to New Orleans and New Mexico for service projects.

The USILA also again will present its Doyle Smith Sports Information/Media Award during next month’s ceremony. This year’s recipient is Christian Swezey, currently a writer for Inside Lacrosse and previously a lacrosse beat writer for The Washington Post.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy