NCAA News Archive - 2008

« back to 2008 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Commissioners elect leaders

Jan 24, 2008 1:04:02 AM

The NCAA News

Brad Bankston, commissioner of the Old Dominion Athletic Conference for the past 11 years, has assumed the presidency of the Division III Commissioners Association.

Bankston, who succeeds Donna Ledwin of the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference in the post, will serve a one-year term as leader of the organization of more than 40 Division III conference commissioners.

Bankston also has been active in NCAA governance, having served on the Division III Championships and Budget Committees and through his current service as chair of the Division III Men's Golf Committee.

The commissioners also elected a new vice president, Chris Martin of the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin. He succeeds Bankston in the post and, as a result of his election, is set to assume the presidency in 2009.

Martin became CCIW commissioner in 2002 after serving for four years on the NCAA national office staff, including two years as Division III governance liaison. He recently has served as chair of the Division III Membership Committee.

Katie Hersey, executive director of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference, will join the executive committee, serving a three-year term. She succeeds Martin in that position.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy