NCAA News Archive - 2008

« back to 2008 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Division III Rewind

May 9, 2008 1:52:21 AM

The NCAA News

The following is a summary of Division III news from the week of May 5-9.

  • Representatives of Ohio Wesleyan and Ohio State -- including both institutions’ presidents, athletics directors, football coaches and mascots, as well as two-time Ohio State Heisman Trophy winner Archie Griffin -- gathered on the OWU campus to commemorate the schools’ first football game in 1890. The ceremony featured the unveiling of a historic marker commemorating Ohio State’s May 3, 1890, victory at Ohio Wesleyan -- the first game played by either school -- on a site only recently pinpointed through a former OWU professor and football coach’s discovery of an archived letter that was written by a player in the game.
  • At least eight Division III student-athletes are among this year’s 321 recipients of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, widely regarded as one of the nation’s most coveted undergraduate scholarships. Multiple NCAA swimming champion Elizabeth Carlton of Kenyon, cross country all-American Katie Theisen of St. Thomas (Minnesota) and swimming all-American John Kegelman of Johns Hopkins are among recipients of the scholarships in mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering.
  • Hendrix announced it plans to reinstate football 50 years after discontinuing its program, and the school also plans to add women’s lacrosse. Reinstatement of football, which school officials said may require two or three years to accomplish, will make Hendrix the only Division III football program in Arkansas, and the school would join nine other Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference members in sponsoring the sport. Meanwhile, lacrosse would become the school’s 11th women’s sport, and the addition of both programs would boost sport sponsorship to 21 at an institution where about 25 percent of the student body participates in intercollegiate athletics.
  • Teams advanced in Division III Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships competition. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Emory, Gustavus Adolphus, Kenyon, Mary Washington, Middlebury, Washington U. in St. Louis, and Williams advanced to the men’s finals at Bates. Joining host Gustavus Adolphus in the women’s finals are Bowdoin, Denison, Emory, Mary Washington, Pomona-Pitzer, defending champion Washington and Lee, and Williams.
  • Nominations are being solicited for an vacancy on the Division III Membership Committee.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy