NCAA News Archive - 2008

« back to 2008 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Division III track scholars named

Jul 14, 2008 1:25:58 AM

The NCAA News

Rachel Anderson of Illinois Wesleyan, Natalie Calderon of Redlands and Morgen Leonard-Fleckman of Washington U. in St. Louis have been named the Division III Women’s Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field Scholar-Athletes of the Year by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Anderson, a senior for Illinois Wesleyan and the 2008 Division III Indoor and Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year, helped lead the Titans to both the NCAA indoor and outdoor team titles. Anderson won the NCAA indoor and outdoor titles in the 400-meter dash, the outdoor title in the 200-meter dash and also ran the anchor leg on the indoor 4x400-meter relay team that placed first at the indoor national meet. 

She was also the 2008 USTFCCCA Division III Track Athlete of the Year and was one of 11 finalists for the 2007-08 Division III Athlete of the Year, sponsored by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards and America Honda Motor Co., Inc.  

Calderon was named the 2008 Division III Outdoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year after leading Redlands to its first conference championship since 1978 and winning the long jump and triple jump at the Division III national championships. Calderon is an NCAA postgraduate scholarship recipient who is completing a master’s degree in audiology.

Leonard-Fleckman is the 2008 Division III Indoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year after winning the indoor pole vault title in March. She graduated from Washington U. in St. Louis in May. She currently owns both the indoor and outdoor school records at Washington.  Also an NCAA postgraduate scholarship recipient, Leonard-Fleckman plans to work as a high school teacher for the Teach for America program.

In addition to the Scholar Athletes of the Year, the USTFCCCA also announced the women’s Division III All-Academic Track and Field team. A total of 232 student-athletes representing 84 Division III colleges and universities compose the 2008 team.

For more on the USTFCCCA awards, click here.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy