NCAA News Archive - 2008

« back to 2008 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

New sports committee members set for service

Aug 5, 2008 8:29:41 AM

The NCAA News

More than 20 administrators and coaches representing Division III institutions will begin service September 1 on sports committees that have responsibilities either within the division or across the Association.

The appointees were selected from nominees and approved by the Division III governance structure, including the Division III Management Council and Championships Committee.

At least three positions with September 1 start dates remain open on Division III sports committees -- in women’s basketball (seeking a coach or administrator from the Central region), field hockey (coach or administrator from the New England East region) and men’s and women’s track and field (a female administrator from the South/Southeast region representing men’s track and field or cross country interests).

The deadline for nominations is August 8. Further information about current committee vacancies is available here.

Committees welcoming new members in September are:

Men’s basketball: Russell Rogers, director of athletics, Stevens Institute of Technology (East region); and Ken Schumann, director of athletics, Pacific (Oregon).

Field hockey: Wendy Orrison, associate professor of physical education/head coach, Washington and Lee (South region).

Men’s golf: Brian Chafin, director of athletics/head coach, Centre (Southeast region).

Women’s golf: Martha Nause, head coach, Macalester (Midwest region).

Women’s ice hockey: Michael Letzeisen, assistant director of hockey and rowing, Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC West Hockey Conference); and Andrew McPhee, head coach, Trinity (Connecticut) (New England Small College Athletic Conference).

Women’s lacrosse: Susan Fumagalli, assistant director of athletics, Gettysburg (Metro region).

Men’s soccer: Lonnie Folks, director of athletics operations, Richard Stockton (Metro region); William Brady Jr., head coach, Greensboro (South region); and David Kulik, associate director of athletics, Clark (Massachusetts) (New England region).

Softball: Steve Wammer, director of athletics/head coach, Northland (Great Lakes region); and Nikki Fennern, director of athletics, St. Mary’s (Minnesota) (Midwest region).

Men’s and women’s swimming and diving: Aaron Paskvan, diving coach, Calvin (Central region, representing diving); and Jennifer Blomme, head coach, Whitman (West region).

Men’s tennis: John Browning, head coach, Emory (Atlantic South region).

Women’s tennis: Ann Lebedeff, professor and head women’s coach, Pomona-Pitzer (West region).

Men’s and women’s track and field: William Freeman, head track and cross country coach, Grinnell (Central region).

Women’s volleyball: Mike Lester, assistant director of athletics/head coach, St. Mary’s  (Minnesota).

Football rules: Anthony Ierulli, head coach/assistant director of athletics, Maryville (Tennessee) (Region 2).

Men’s and women’s ice hockey rules: William Mandingo, head women’s coach, Middlebury (representing Division III women’s ice hockey).

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy