NCAA News Archive - 2008

« back to 2008 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Presidential Notes: Conferences name leaders

Jul 3, 2008 2:00:00 AM

The NCAA News

Presidents’ Athletic Conference: Scott Miller, who currently is active in NCAA governance as a member of the Division III Membership Committee, is the new chair of the conference’s Presidents’ Council, as Bethany (West Virginia) takes a turn providing leaders during the coming year for the league’s various governance groups. Miller, who was a distance runner at West Virginia Wesleyan and served as president at Lincoln Memorial and more recently at Wesley (Delaware) before assuming the presidency at Bethany last December, succeeds retiring Westminster (Pennsylvania) President R. Thomas Williamson as the council’s leader. Miller, who previously has served as a conference officer in the Division II Gulf South Conference and the recently renamed Colonial States Athletic Conference in Division III, served early in his career as a newspaper sportswriter/editor/columnist and as a sports information director. Joining Miller in PAC leadership positions are Tim Weaver, who will chair the Athletics Directors’ Council, and Wallace Neel, who will lead the league’s faculty athletics representatives. The conference’s executive director is Joe Onderko, entering his third year in that position.

American Southwest Conference: Tom Cedel of Concordia (Texas) will serve as the 15-member conference’s president and lead its Council of Presidents this year. Cedel, a former U.S. Air Force officer who assumed analyst and command roles during his 26 years of active duty, became president at Concordia in 2002 after serving in administrative roles at Concordia (Michigan). He succeeds R. Vic Morgan, president at Sul Ross State, who assumes the role of past president on the council. Joe Aguillard, president of Louisiana College, will serve as vice president. Amy Carlton serves as the conference's commissioner.

North Coast Athletic Conference: Dale T. Knobel, president at Denison and a former member of the Division III Presidents Council, will succeed Earlham’s Douglas Bennett as president of the conference. Knobel, who currently represents the league as a member of the Division III Presidents/Chancellors Advisory Group, assumed leadership in 1998 at Denison after holding teaching and administrative posts at Texas A&M and Southwestern (Texas). The North Coast presidents also elected Hiram President Thomas V. Chema as NCAC vice president. Before assuming leadership at Hiram, Chema was executive director of the Gateway Economic Development Corporation of Greater Cleveland, where his work included oversight of the financing and construction of Jacobs Field and what is now known as Quicken Loans Arena. The North Coast Athletic Conference will celebrate its 25th anniversary during Knobel’s and Chema’s terms, and Dennis M. Collins will celebrate his 25th year as the league's executive director.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy