NCAA News Archive - 2008

« back to 2008 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Three presidents set for Council service

Jan 16, 2008 9:31:38 AM

The NCAA News

Three new members will begin service on the Division III Presidents Council at its April meeting.

The new members, elected by Division III presidents, are Livingston Alexander of the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford, Walter Bortz of Hampden-Sydney College and Catharine Hill of Vassar College.

Alexander assumed Pittsburgh-Bradford's presidency in 2003. He previously was provost and vice president for academic affairs and professor of psychology at Kean University, and earlier served in academic and administrative posts at Western Kentucky University, Georgia Southern University and Troy State University.

He has written widely in such areas as learning, cognition, planning, and assessment of learning outcomes, and often has led seminars and workshops on leadership and diversity.

Bortz became president at Hampden-Sydney in 2000, and has led planning for a new library and stadium, among other renovations and improvements. He also serves as a leader in a variety of higher education organizations in Virginia and regionally, and heads the Old Dominion Athletic Conference's presidents council.

He served in a variety of administrative positions during 33 years before he assumed his presidency, including enrollment-management positions at Bethany College (West Virginia), Texas Christian University, East Carolina University and the University of Hartford. Bortz also has been a vice president at Hartford and at George Washington University.

Hill, a noted economist who has published works on higher education access and affordability and on development and reform in Africa, assumed the Vassar presidency in 2006. She previously served for seven years as provost at Williams College.

Previously she served on the economics faculty at Williams, then lived for two years in the Republic of Zambia, where she served as fiscal/trade advisor and then chief-of-party of the Harvard Institute of International Development's Project on Macroeconomic Reform.

Marcia Keizs, president of York College (New York), was re-elected by Division III presidents to a full four-year term after serving a partial term on the Council.

Delegates at the NCAA Convention elected new members of the Division III Management Council. They are Joan Sitterly, director of athletics at State University College at Cortland, and Rita Wiggs, commissioner of the USA South Athletic Conference. Delegates also re-elected Lee McKinney, director of athletics at Fontbonne University, who joined the Management Council last year. (See the January 10 edition of The NCAA News Online for more information.)

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy