NCAA News Archive - 2008

« back to 2008 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Tim Gleason claims commissioners' service award

Jan 13, 2008 1:32:25 AM

The NCAA News

The commissioner of one of college athletics' three oldest conferences is this year's recipient of the Division III Commissioners Association's Meritorious Service Award.

Tim Gleason, commissioner of the Ohio Athletic Conference, is the eight recipient of the award, which recognizes significant and substantial contributions to Division III athletics.

nullGleason has served since 1991 as commissioner of the OAC, which was founded in 1902 -- 14 years after the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association and seven years after the Big Ten Conference. Gleason became the league's first full-time commissioner after serving from 1980 to 1983 on the NCAA staff as a promotions and licensing coordinator and from 1983 to 1991 as assistant executive director of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics.

During his tenure at NACDA, Gleason was in charge of the NACDA Foundation, which provides clinics and seminars for universities and colleges, and served as managing editor of Athletics Administration magazine.

Since assuming his OAC duties, he has been active in NCAA governance. Gleason currently is a member of the Division III Management Council and also chairs the NCAA Honors Committee, a panel of athletics administrators and nationally distinguished citizens who annually select recipients of the Association's Theodore Roosevelt Award (the organization's highest honor), Silver Anniversary Awards (presented to former student-athletes), Today's Top VIII (awarded to current student-athletes), Inspiration Award and Award of Valor.

He also is immediate past president of the Division III Commissioners Association, and president and founder of the Northeastern Ohio Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Gleason is the fifth commissioner to receive the Meritorious Achievement Award, joining Dick Rasmussen of the University Athletic Association (2001), Patrick Damore of the State University of New York Athletic Conference (2002), former Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletics Conference Commissioner Carlyle Carter (2004) and Dennis Collins of the North Coast Athletic Conference (2005). Other honorees include NCAA Division III Vice President Dan Dutcher and former NCAA Division III director and current Wellesley College Director of Athletics Bridget Belgiovine, who shared the award in 2003, and former Adrian College President Stan Caine, last year's recipient.

Gleason will be acknowledged as this year's award recipient during Division III meetings this weekend at the NCAA Convention in Nashville.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy