NCAA News Archive - 2009

« back to 2009 | Back to NCAA News Archive Index

Huskers roll to third bowling title

Apr 13, 2009 10:52:00 AM

The NCAA News

The Nebraska women’s bowling team returned to its title-winning ways, claiming the 2009 NCAA National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship on Saturday at Super Bowl Lanes in Canton, Michigan. 

The Huskers defeated Central Missouri, 4-1, to capture their third bowling championship behind the squad’s anchor and three-time all-American, junior Cassandra Leuthold, who was named as the most outstanding player in the championship. This year marks the third time Nebraska and Central Missouri have faced each other in the title match. The Huskers also collected victories over the Jennies to win the first two NCAA women’s bowling championships in 2004 and 2005. 

Nebraska took the first game of this year’s best-of-seven championship match, 200-185, but Central Missouri took advantage of several open frames left by Husker bowlers to even the match with a 198-149 victory in the second game. Nebraska regained the momentum, capturing the next three games to secure the title.

Central Missouri advanced through the loser’s bracket after a loss in Round 2 to Delaware State to earn an appearance in the championship match after twice downing a Fairleigh Dickinson team that needed just one victory against the Jennies to win a berth in the championship match.

A second-round loss to Fairleigh Dickinson forced Nebraska to work from the loser’s bracket as well. The Huskers defeated Delaware State earlier on Saturday to capture a spot in the title match.  

A rash of upsets in the early elimination rounds left top-seeded Nebraska vying for the title along with the fifth, sixth and seventh seeds, Fairleigh Dickinson, Central Missouri and Delaware State. Defending national champion Maryland-Eastern Shore, seeded third, was eliminated in the third round after falling to Central Missouri and New Jersey City. Vanderbilt and Arkansas State rounded out the eight-team championship field.

Round 1

Nebraska def. Arkansas St., 4-3; Delaware St. def. New Jersey City, 4-3; Central Missouri def. Maryland Eastern Shore, 4-0; Fairleigh Dickinson def. Vanderbilt, 4-2-1.

Round 2

Fairleigh Dickinson def. Nebraska, 4-1; Delaware St. def. Central Missouri, 4-1; Vanderbilt def. Arkansas St., 4-3; New Jersey City def. Maryland Eastern Shore, 4-1-1.

Round 3

Central Missouri def. Vanderbilt, 4-0; Nebraska def. New Jersey City, 4-3.

Round 4

Central Missouri def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 4-2; Nebraska def. Delaware St., 4-2.

Round 5

Central Missouri def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 4-3; Nebraska def. Delaware St., 4-2.



Nebraska def. Central Missouri, 4-1.

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy