NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

2004 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship Selections

For Immediate Release

Monday, May 10, 2004
John Williams
Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS: The Division I NCAA Men's Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament today.

The 16-team field includes six conference champions with automatic qualification (AQ) - American East Conference (University at Albany), Colonial Athletic Association (Towson University), Great Western Lacrosse League (Ohio State University), Ivy League (Cornell University), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Providence College) and Patriot League (U.S. Naval Academy). The rest of the field was selected at large.

Syracuse University and Johns Hopkins University have won the event seven times each. Johns Hopkins has not won since 1987. Princeton University has won six titles. Since 1988, either Syracuse or Princeton has won every year except Johns Hopkins' 1987 victory and the University of Virginia's 1999 and 2003 titles. The Cavaliers, who did not make this year's field, became the first defending championship not to advance since 1972, when defending champion Cornell did not make the then eight- team field. Providence is the only team in the field that will be making its first tournament appearance.

The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, May 29-31. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN starting at 2:30 p.m. EDT, three hours later than it has started in past years.

The championship hosts are Johns Hopkins, the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Loyola College (Maryland) and Towson. This is the only NCAA team sport that holds the championships of all three divisions at a common site. The 2005 and 2006 site is Philadelphia's Lincoln Financial Field, which opened last year. No other future sites are set.

For ticket information for all games in Baltimore, May 29-31, call 410/261-7283.

For more information about the 2004 Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship, visit

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy