NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

2004 NCAA Division II Men's Tennis Championships Selections

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, April 28, 2004
Troy L. Arthur
Associate Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has selected the teams and 16 first- and second-round sites of the 2004 NCAA Division II Men's Tennis Championships.

The 16 first- and second-round tournaments will be conducted May 7-9, with the winner of each first- and second-round tournament advancing to the finals in Altamonte Springs, Florida, with the Central Florida Sports Commission, the Sunshine State Conference and Rollins College serving as co-hosts, May 12-15. The men's championships are part of the NCAA Division II National Championships Festival, which will feature six Division II championships.

The championships consist of a 16-team single elimination tournament. Each of the following eight regions will conduct two first- and second-round tournaments: East, Mid-Atlantic, Southeast, South, Great Lakes, Central, North Central and West. The selection of teams for the championships is based on prescribed criteria listed in the NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Championships Handbook and approved by the NCAA Division II Championships Committee.

Information pertaining to teams, dates and sites is included on the attached bracket.

Seventeen conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2004 men's championships. Each conference and its automatic qualifier is listed below:

    Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference - Anderson College (South Carolina)
    Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Johnson C. Smith University
    Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Northwood University
    Great Lakes Valley Conference - Northern Kentucky University
    Gulf South Conference - Valdosta State University
    Heartland Conference - Drury University
    Lone Star Conference - Abilene Christian University
    New York Collegiate Athletic Conference - Dowling College
    Northeast-10 Conference - Assumption College
    Pacific West Conference - Hawaii Pacific University
    Peach Belt Conference - University of North Florida
    Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference - Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
    Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference - University of Nebraska at Kearney
    Sunshine State Conference - Rollins College
    South Atlantic Conference - Presbyterian College
    Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Tuskegee University
    West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - West Liberty State College

In the 2003 championships, Brigham Young University, Hawaii, defeated Hawaii Pacific University, 5-4, for its second consecutive championship title.

For more information regarding the NCAA Division II Men's Tennis Championships, log on to

Related Links:
» 2004 Championship Bracket (PDF*)

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy