NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

2004 NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championship Selections

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, April 28, 2004
Troy L. Arthur
Associate Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Committee has selected the teams and 16 first- and second-round sites of the 2004 NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championships.

The 16 first- and second-round tournaments will be conducted May 7-9, with the winner of each first- and second-round tournament advancing to the finals in Altamonte Springs, Florida, with the Central Florida Sports Commission, the Sunshine State Conference and Rollins College serving as co-hosts, May 12-15. The women's championships are part of the NCAA Division II National Championships Festival, which will feature six Division II championships.

The championships consist of a 16-team single elimination tournament. Each of the following eight regions will conduct two first- and second-round tournaments: East, Mid-Atlantic, Southeast, South, Great Lakes, Central, North Central and West. The selection of teams for the championship is based on prescribed criteria listed in the NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Tennis Championships Handbook and approved by the NCAA Division II Championships Committee.

Information pertaining to teams, dates and sites is included on the attached bracket.

Eighteen conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2004 women's championships. Each conference and its automatic qualifier is listed below:

    California Collegiate Athletic Association - University of California, San Diego
    Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference - Barton College
    Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Northwood University
    Great Lakes Valley Conference - Northern Kentucky University
    Gulf South Conference - Ouachita Baptist University
    Heartland Conference - University of the Incarnate Word
    Lone Star Conference - Abilene Christian University
    Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association - Washburn University of Topeka
    New York Collegiate Athletic Conference - Queens College (New York)
    Northeast-10 Conference - Bryant College
    Pacific West Conference - Brigham Young University, Hawaii
    Peach Belt Conference - Armstrong Atlantic State University
    Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference - Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
    Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference - Metropolitan State College of Denver
    Sunshine State Conference - Lynn University
    South Atlantic Conference - Tusculum College
    Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Clark Atlanta University
    West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Shepherd College

In the 2003 championships, defending champion Brigham Young-Hawaii, defeated Barry University, 5-3, for its fourth title in five years.

For more information regarding the NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championships, log on to

Related Links:
» 2004 Championship Bracket (PDF*)

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy