NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

2004 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships Finalists

For Immediate Release

Friday, May 7, 2004
Kristin W. Fasbender
Assistant Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS---The following is a list of teams and individuals that have advanced to the 2004 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships.

The 2004 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships will be held May 12-15, at The Legacy Club at Alaqua Lakes in Longwood, Florida, and will be hosted by the Central Florida Sports Commission in conjunction with the Division II National Championships Festival.

The top two teams along with the top two individuals not with a team, from each regional, have advanced to the championships.

The championships will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently. All participants will compete throughout the entire 72 holes of competition. In the team competition, the low four scores for each team will count in each day's total score. The number of participants allowed at the finals is 48.

The following teams and individuals were selected to participate in the championships.

East Region Teams:
Ferris State
Grand Valley State

East Region Individuals:
Kim Keyer-Scott, Northern Kentucky
Jamie Long, Northwood

North Region Teams:
Minnesota State Mankato
St. Cloud State

North Region Individuals:
Liz Kaler, North Dakota
Erin Oakland, Southwest Minnesota State

South Region Teams:
Florida Southern

South Region Individuals:
Natasha Morgan, Lynn
Sarah Nicholson, West Florida

West Region Teams:
Northeastern State
Western Washington

West Region Individuals:
Katharine Dorris, Western New Mexico
Kristen Kennedy, Western New Mexico

Championships pairings will be based the following rankings.

1. Rollins
2. Northeastern State
3. Ferris State
4. Grand Valley State
5. Western Washington
6. Florida Southern
7. Minnesota State Mankato
8. St. Cloud State

1. Kim Keyer-Scott - Northern Kentucky
2. Natasha Morgan - Lynn
3. Katharine Dorris - Western New Mexico
4. Kristen Kennedy - Western New Mexico
5. Sarah Nicholson - West Florida
6. Jamie Long - Northwood
7. Liz Kaler - North Dakota
8. Erin Oakland - Southwest Minnesota State

In last year's championships, Rollins College fired its best round of the four-day tournament -- a 305 -- to finish 39 strokes ahead of runner-up Florida Southern and claim the 2003 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championship on Saturday. Freshman Charlotte Campbell fired a final round score of two-under par 71 to claim the individual national championship by four strokes. Her four round score of 299 (78-74-76-71) established a new Division II record for the lowest total by the individual champion.

For more information about the 2004 NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championships, log on to


© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy