NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

2004 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Committee announces championship field

For Immediate Release

Sunday, March 7, 2004
Chris Schneider
Assistant Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Committee announced today the field of nine teams for the 2004 Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship. Six conferences have been awarded automatic qualification. The remaining three teams were selected at-large by the committee.

The championship playoff format involves a single first-round game and four second-round games that are played on the campuses of the participating institutions. All games in the championship are single elimination. The four second-round winners advance to a site to be determined on the campus of one of the competing institutions for the semifinals and championship game, which will be conducted March 19-20.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are:

    ECAC East Ice Hockey League-Norwich (23-3-0)
    ECAC Northeast Ice Hockey League-Wentworth Institute (16-8-4)
    State University of New York Athletic Conference-Plattsburgh State (22-4-3)
    Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference- St. Thomas (Minnesota) (17-7-3)
    New England Small College Athletic Conference- Middlebury (24-3-0)
    Northern Collegiate Hockey Association- St. Norbert (25-2-2)

Hobart College, Curry College and the University of Wisconsin, River Falls, enter the field as the three at-large selections.

Norwich University defeated State University College at Oswego in the 2003 NCAA Division III championship game. The tournament's final was conducted March 22 at Norwich University's Kreitzburg Arena.

For more information about the Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship, log on to

Related Links:
» 2004 Championship Bracket (PDF*)

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy