NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

2004 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships Selections

For Immediate Release

Monday, April 26, 2004
D'Ann Keller
Assistant Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 26 teams that will compete in the NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first- and second-rounds played at regional sites. The quarterfinal, semifinal and final rounds will be played at Rhodes College, May 12-17.

The selection of teams for the championships was based on head-to-head competition, won-lost record, strength of schedule, results against common opponents, spring competition with an emphasis on late-season play, consistency of lineup and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The subcommittee selected seven teams from the Atlantic South region, seven from the Central region, seven from the Northeast region and five from the West region. The committee considered team results in collegiate match play from September 1, 2003, until the time of the final selections.

First- and second-round competition will be held at the following sites:

Atlantic South

    Emory University, April 30-May 1
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Emory University (20-1) will receive a first-round bye.
    University of the South (13-5) vs. Rhodes College (12-5)

    Washington and Lee University, May1-2
    Lexington, Virginia
    Washington and Lee (21-3) vs. Mary Washington (8-8)
    Swarthmore (14-2) vs. Salisbury (7-5)


    Gustavus Adolphus College, May 1-2
    St. Peter, Minnesota
    Gustavus Adolphus (22-7) will receive a first-round bye.
    Luther College (18-6) vs. St. Catherine (16-7)

    Denison University, May 1-2
    Granville, Ohio
    Denison (17-2) vs. Carthage (18-3)
    Washington (Mo.) (19-4) vs. Albion (15-7)


    Amherst College, May 1-2
    Amherst, Massachusetts
    Amherst (14-3) will receive a first-round bye.
    Bowdoin (12-6) vs. Middlebury (15-3)

    Williams College, April 30-May 1
    Williamstown, Massachusetts
    Williams (12-5) vs. College of New Jersey (14-2)
    Tufts (10-3) vs. Vassar (19-2)


    Hardin-Simmons, May 1
    Abilene, Texas
    Hardin-Simmons (17-1) vs. Trinity (Texas) (9-9)

    Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges, May 1-2
    Claremont, California
    Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (15-3) will receive a bye.
    Pomona-Pitzer (11-8) vs. Redlands (10-9)

In last year's championship, Emory won their second team championship, defeating Washington and Lee, 5-1. The Eagles rode their momentum in the individual events. The singles final was an Emory-Emory matchup, featuring junior Mary Ellen Gordon, who bested freshman teammate Jolyn Taylor, 6-4, 6-1. It was the first time in NCAA Division III women's tennis history that teammates competed for the singles title.

Gordon and Taylor then paired to win the doubles championship, defeating DePauw's Haley Heathman and Liz Bondi, 6-3, 6-2.

Gordon became the fifth person in Division III women's tennis history to win the singles and the doubles titles in the same year and just the second person to win team, singles, and doubles championships in the same year. She also is the third player to have won three doubles titles.

For more information about the Division III Women's Tennis Championships, log on to


© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy