NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

2004 NCAA Division III Womens Tennis Individuals and Doubles Teams Championships Selections

For Immediate Release

Tuesday, May 4, 2004
D'Ann Keller
Assistant Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Subcommittee selected individuals and doubles teams that will compete in the NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships. The individual championships include 32 single players and 16 double teams.

The selection of teams and individuals for the championships emphasizes in-region play based on head-to-head competition, won-lost record, strength of schedule, results against common opponents and teams, spring competition with an emphasis on late-season play, victories over student-athletes already selected for the championships, consistency of lineup, and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The team championship will be held May 12-14, and the singles and doubles championships will be held May 15-17. The finals will be held at Rhodes College and the Racquet Club of Memphis, Memphis, Tennessee. The finals team bracket is also attached.

A list of individual participants is below:

INDIVIDUAL QUALIFIERS: (Alphabetical by name)
    Carina Alberelli, Emory (17-4)
    Ne'ko Browder, Washington (Maryland) (19-4)
    Katie Frick, UC Santa Cruz (13-11)
    Lauren Gerlach, Denison (15-7)
    Kelly Glassburn, Ohio Wesleyan (13-3)
    Stephanie Gong, Rhodes (18-4)
    Mary Ellen Gordon, Emory (19-1)
    Lindsay Hagerman, Washington and Lee (27-4)
    Stephanie Hall, Williams (21-7)
    Tristan Hedrick, Amherst (17-7)
    Rachel Holt, Amherst (23-5)
    Lauren Hom, Gustavus Adolphus (25-3)
    Tara Houlihan, Gustavus Adolphus (16-5)
    Kelli Howard, Pomona-Pitzer (18-5)
    Sara Hughes, Colby (10-2)
    Ashley Kriwinsky, Wheaton (Massachusetts) (23-2)
    Jennifer Lejb, Tufts (14-4)
    Jeannine Liang, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (20-5)
    Elizabeth Maclellan, Wheaton (Illinois) (26-3)
    Julie Mallory, Williams (17-9)
    Kristen McClung, Washington and Lee (20-6)
    Jessica Nagasako, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (16-9)
    Kristen Raverta, Amherst (18-3)
    Anjani Reddy, Swarthmore (25-3)
    Jackie Ross, Middlebury (13-9)
    Debbie Sharnak, Vassar (22-4)
    Tatiana Steinberg, Redlands (18-5)
    Jolyn Taylor, Emory (24-4)
    Christin Tiegs, St. Benedict (31-4)
    Caroline Tien, MIT (18-5)
    Rebecca Watkins, Hardin-Simmons (15-6)
    Lauren Willett, Sewanee (14-10)

INDIVIDUAL ALTERNATES (Alphabetical by name)

    Kacie Cook, Washington U. in St. Louis
    Amelia Crace, Denison
    Hayley Dittus, Trinity (Texas)
    Paulette Hricko, Bowdoin
    Mona Iyer, Carnegie Mellon
    Jennifer Luten, Tufts
    Megan Suarez, Trinity (Texas)

DOUBLES QUALIFIERS: (Alphabetical by school)

    Rachel Holt/Tristan Hedrick, Amherst (16-5)
    Jen Hansen/Becca Hunau, Cal Lutheran (20-4)
    Sara Hughes/Allison Dunn, Colby (7-3)
    Amelia Crace/Lauren Parsons, Denison (25-1)
    Lauren Gerlach/Erin Coughlin, Denison (23-7)
    Mary Ellen Gordon/Jolyn Taylor, Emory (20-1)
    Margaret Moscato/Carina Alberelli, Emory (27-4)
    Lyndsey Palen/Tara Houlihan, Gustavus Adolphus (17-7)
    Kara Smiley/Lauren Hom, Gustavus Adolphus (26-4)
    Rebecca Watkins/Nancy Chandler, Hardin-Simmons (18-3)
    Whitney Henderson/Kelli Howard, Pomona-Pitzer (22-7)
    Haley Dittus/Heather McGowan, Trinity (Texas) (17-6)
    Jennifer Luten/Jennifer Lejb, Tufts (13-7)
    Ne'ko Browder/Shoko Nakamura, Washington (Maryland) (19-4)
    Lindsay Hagerman/Ginny Wortham, Washington and Lee (16-2)
    Stephanie Hall/Kate Troy, Williams (24-6)

DOUBLES ALTERNATES: (Alphabetical by school)

    Kristen Raverta/Wallis Molchen, Amherst
    Jackie Ross/Sandy Spring, Middlebury
    Laura Hoffmeister/Hennessy Howell, Rhodes
    Katie Frick/Sara Moslen, UC Santa Cruz

In last year's championship, Mary Ellen Gordon and Jolyn Taylor of Emory defeated Haley Heathman and Liz Bondi of DePauw (6-3, 6-2) to earn the 2003 Women's Tennis Doubles title. The singles final was an Emory-Emory matchup, featuring junior Mary Ellen Gordon, who bested freshman teammate Jolyn Taylor, 6-4, 6-1. It was the first time in NCAA Division III women's tennis history that teammates competed for the singles title.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships, logon to

Related Links:
» 2004 Championship Bracket (PDF*)

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy