NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

Inaugural National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship Field Announced

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, March 24, 2004
Keanah Smith
Assistant Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS - The eight-team field competing for the inaugural NCAA National Collegiate Bowling Championship was announced today by the National Collegiate Women's Bowling Committee.

Texas Southern University and the Harris County-Houston Sports Authority will co-host the championship, which will be held April 8-10 at the Emerald Bowl in Houston, Texas.

The field includes: Central Missouri State University, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Metropolitan Campus, University of Maryland, Eastern Shore, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, New Jersey City University, Sacred Heart University, Southern University, Baton Rouge, and Winston-Salem State University. All eight teams were selected at-large.

The competition begins with each team bowling seven regular games along with three Baker games for a qualifying total. The Baker format allows five team members to follow each other in order, each bowling a complete frame until a complete (10 frame) game is bowled.

Based on the pinfall of the qualifying round, the teams are placed in a double-elimination bracket. Teams compete against each other in a best-of-seven Baker-style bowling competition.

Tickets can be purchased at the Emerald Bowl during the event or by calling 713/313-4337.

For more information about the National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship, log on to


© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy