NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA News Release

NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey selections announced

For Immediate Release

Sunday, March 7, 2004
Kerri Fagan
Associate Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Committee announced today the seven teams selected for the 2004 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship. Of the seven teams selected, four of the teams received automatic qualification as winners of their conference championships. One school was selected from Pool B, which are independent schools and schools from conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final two schools are from Pool C, which are schools from automatic-qualifying conferences that were not the conference champion and the remaining schools from Pool B.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification:

ECAC Division III East Women's Hockey League Manhattanville
ECAC Women's West Ice Hockey League Elmira
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus
New England Small College Athletic Conference Bowdoin

Three first-round games will be played at campus sites March 12, 13 or 14. Dates and times for these games will be announced Monday. The four remaining teams will play in the semifinals and finals to be held March 19 and 20. The site of the semifinals and finals will be announced after the first-round games are completed.

In last year's championship, Elmira College won its second consecutive women's ice hockey championship with a 5-1 win over Manhattanville College.

For continuing coverage of the 2004 Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship, visit

Related Links:
» 2004 Championship Bracket (PDF*)

© 2010 The National Collegiate Athletic Association
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy