NCAA Press Release Archive

« back to archive | Back to

NCAA Announces 2010 Frozen Four Skills Challenge Participants

For Immediate Release

Wednesday, March 10, 2010


Mark Bedics
Associate Director of Media Coordination and Championships

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA has announced the participants for the fifth annual Frozen Four Skills Challenge, which will be held April 9 at Ford Field in Detroit, Mich.

The competition will be conducted in an East versus West format with each team having six male position players, six female position players, two male goaltenders and two female goaltenders. An alternate list has been established in the event that players have to withdraw from the competition due to other commitments, such as their team’s participation in the 2010 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four.

Requirements for selection to the team consist of all players having exhausted their collegiate eligibility and a nomination by their head coach. The players were selected by representatives from the American Hockey Coaches Association and NCAA national office staff. The competitions will include puck control relay, fastest skater, hardest shot, rapid fire shooting, accuracy shooting and penalty shot. Each competitor will receive a complete set of equipment and a full uniform from Bauer Hockey.

The men’s East squad include: Sean Backman, Yale; Bobby Butler, New Hampshire; Owen Meyer, Army; Neil Musselwhite, Oswego State; Ben Smith, Boston College and Brandon Wong, Quinnipiac. The two goalies are: Jared DeMichiel, RIT and Ben Scrivens, Cornell.

The women’s East squad include: Melissa Anderson, Boston U.; Anna McDonald, Harvard; Sarah Parsons, Dartmouth; Kelly Paton, New Hampshire; Britni Smith, St. Lawrence and Allie Thunstrom, Boston College. The two goalies are Brittony Chartier, St. Lawrence and Melissa Haber, Boston U.

The men’s West squad include: Cody Chupp, Ferris State; Zach Harrison, Minnesota State Mankato; Steven Kampfer, Michigan; Kyle Lawson, Notre Dame; Tony Lucia, Minnesota and Chris McKelvie, Bemidji State. The two goalies are: Brian Stewart, Northern Michigan and Andrew Volkening, Air Force.

The women’s West squad include: Kelli Blankenship, Minnesota; Rachel Davis, Ohio State; Caitlin Hogan, St. Cloud State; Kyla Sanders, Wisconsin; Chelsea Walkland, Robert Morris and Ashley Young, Minnesota State Mankato. The two goalies are: Lauren Bradel, St. Thomas (Minnesota) and Lindsey Park, Wayne State (Michigan).

Tickets for the event are $10 and are on sale at all Ticketmaster outlets, or by phone at 800/745-3000. The Frozen Four Skills Challenge will begin at 8 p.m. Eastern, and will be preceded by the Hobey Baker Memorial Award at 7 p.m. and the Hockey Humanitarian Award at 6:30 p.m.