AIAW HISTORY

AIAW Women's Soccer Championship Results

 Year
 Champion
 Coach
 Runner-Up
 Score
 Site

 &1981
 North Carolina
 Anson Dorrance
 UCF
 1-0
 --Chapel Hill, N.C.

&The only year that the AIAW sponsored women's soccer, prior to the NCAA sponsoring the sport and championship was the 1981 season.

All-Tournament Team

198

Carol Smith, Texas A&M
Jodi Fechner, California
Pam Baughman, UCF
Nancy Lay, UCF
Nina Holmstrom, Massachusetts
Joan Gettemeyer, Mo.-St. Louis
Becky Treick, Oregon
Stephanie Zeh, North Carolina
Wendy Greensburg, North Carolina
Word Greensburg, North Carolina
Moira Buckley, Connecticut
Jennifer Greeley, Harvard
Felice Duffy, Connecticut
Suzy Cobb, North Carolina
Linda Gancitano, UCF
Amy Ford, UCF

Results

1981 AIAW National Soccer Championship

Team Results

- 1. North Carolina
- 2. UCI
- 3. Connecticut
- 4. Mo.-St. Louis
- 5. Harvard

1981 Quarterfinals: North Carolina 6, Massachusetts 0; UCF 2, Harvard 0; Connecticut 3, Oregon 1 (OT) Consolation Quarterfinals: Oregon 1, Massachusetts 0. Consolation Semi-Finals: Harvard 4, Oregon 3 (OT); Semi-Finals: North Carolina 5, Connecticut 0; UCF 4, Mo.-St. Louis 0. Fifth Place: Harvard 4, Texas A&M 2. Championship: North Carolina 1, UCF 0.

The NCAA would like to thank the University of Maryland libraries for their assistance in sharing the AIAW Archive information.

"AIAW Archives, Special Collections, University of Maryland Libraries."

If you have information that can be utilized in expanding/completing any portion of this section, please send supporting documents to Bonnie Senappe at bsenappe@ncaa.org.